RSS

H for Help, I for Ignorance, and J for Jokes

12 Apr

…Aaaand still behind. Thanks for all the support, though!!!~

H for Help. I was lucky. I got a lot of help in school because of my ADD. Actually, I got a bit too much help. To the point where I would get out of doing work. All I had to say was “It’s too hard,” and they would help me, and I didn’t have to think very hard. My parents tried to have that not happen. But they can only do so much to influence what happens in the classroom, y’know? But the extra time for tests and the like, that helped a lot.

Nowadays, I get help in the forms of my counselor, my parents, and my boyfriend. I’m learning more and more about myself and how this or that “is an Aspie thing,” and I shouldn’t feel bad about myself because of it. I’ve often thought I was weird or something because of this or that. So it feels good to know. And now that we know, we’re working on ways to help me in other areas, too. Like my eating.

I for Ignorance. I’m beginning to feel the ignorance around me, however. With my coworkers, mostly. They don’t understand certain things about me. Like how I have systems for things. And how those systems have to be done correctly. They don’t understand that I don’t understand the social cues. That lots of times, my mind goes blank and I have no idea what to say or how to express myself. Their ignorance ties in with…

J for Jokes. I’m really just talking about just one coworker, here. We’ll call him F. F likes to joke around. A lot. He finds all my buttons and presses them. Hard. And I can’t tell if he’s joking or not because he doesn’t use a joking voice. Not an obvious one, anyway, like I do. He doesn’t laugh when he’s pulling the joke, either. And he jokes about things you really shouldn’t joke about. Like joking that he got the open boss position and he was going to fire me. So, I’m just inclined to think he’s a jerk that doesn’t know when to keep his trap shut. But I’ll work with him, anyway. And when he’s being obvious about his jokes, I’ll laugh. Because I’m an adult, and we have to work together. So, there.

Thanks for reading!

 
5 Comments

Posted by on April 12, 2015 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , ,

5 responses to “H for Help, I for Ignorance, and J for Jokes

  1. Chris

    April 12, 2015 at 2:23 pm

    Hello! I’m visiting from A to Z…might have introduced myself already but i’m not sure. It’s a whirlwind isn’t it? I did A to Z last year and it was difficult to keep up with the daily posts. You try to pre-write and schedule a few to give yourself some breathing room but some people have jobs and lives and families. So this year I’m not doing my own, just visiting and commenting when i can.

    I have/had ADD too…and I can tell you’re probably my age because you didn’t call it ADHD 🙂 I did use it as a crutch sometimes…and so did my mother. She told my HS guidance counselor… which resulted in me having some remedial classes and a no-credit study hall for kids who need ‘special help’ …which resulted in me lacking enough credits to graduate….which resulted in me dropping out. (I did eventually graduate and go to community college but I wont bore you with the details) but yeah, I still think I have some ADD-related issues, anxiety, depression, possibly bi-polar disorder I dunno. Basically, I’m a mess. 🙂

    Anyway, good luck with A to Z…keep at it, even if you have to cram three letters into one post!

     
  2. Morgan Katz

    April 12, 2015 at 11:49 pm

    Hi! I’m a return visitor. It’s so hard to keep up with this challenge. I bailed around the halfway mark last year. This year I intend to go full-force to the end!

     
  3. Julia

    April 13, 2015 at 7:52 pm

    Sometimes jokes are not funny. If someone is continuously joking at others’ expense, that is not usually funny.

     
  4. Sue

    April 15, 2015 at 4:02 pm

    Thanks for letting us know you are participating and working on catching up. Lots of us have many irons in the fire, but the AtoZ Challenge is important to us and our readers…after all it is a challenge. So keep up the writing…your doing a great as we hit the middle of the 3rd week. I like the way you put H-I and J together in this post.

    Sue at CollectInTexas Gal
    AtoZ 2015 Challenge
    Minion for AJ’s wHooligans

     
  5. Liz Brownlee

    April 19, 2015 at 11:11 am

    What idiots some people are, that they have to be unpleasant. Good for you, ignoring it – but don’t forget, if it gets too bad, workplace bullying is not acceptable and you are perfectly within your rights to report him to someone higher up. Hope all goes well from now on! ~Liz http://www.lizbrownleepoet.com

     

Leave a Reply

 
