RSS

D for Depression

05 Apr

I know, I’m a day late. I’m sorry :(.

I heard that a lot of Aspies have depression. I didn’t find out I may have Asperger’s until I was diagnosed with depression. At first, I didn’t believe I had depression. I always had a tendency towards it. But with the way I was raised, I never believed I would actually have it. It’s complicated. But when the doctor started talking about medicating me, and when I considered the fact that I simply couldn’t get myself to do my homework no matter how hard I tried, I started to think, maybe.

About a year or so later, my parents were very concerned about the way I was going with my spending and the state of my bedroom (it’s disgusting). So they got in contact with a counselor. It wasn’t long after that when she started to think I might have Asperger’s. I’m not too sure what made her think it. Just all the sensory issues and stuff, I guess.

So I’m just another Aspie with depression, but it came about the other way around.

 
9 Comments

Posted by on April 5, 2015 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , ,

9 responses to “D for Depression

  1. clicksclan

    April 5, 2015 at 11:42 am

    I wasn’t aware of that but I can sort of understand why it might be the case. Hope that you’d doing okay at the moment.

    Cait @ Click’s Clan

     
  2. lv2trnscrb

    April 5, 2015 at 2:03 pm

    Visiting from A/Z. I read all your entries so far from the challenge. It is good that you got diagnosed with Asperger’s; it might help others know how to relate to you. My daughter who is 29 years old was diagnosed with Asperger’s and depression pretty much around the same time (depression when she was 13 years old and then Asperger’s when she was 15). Having the diagnosis of Asperger’s and having it explained to us helped us be able to relate better to her and to help her more. I do hope the rest of the A/Z challenge goes well for you 🙂

    betty

     
  3. Lily

    April 5, 2015 at 4:47 pm

    Hi, just visiting from the A-Z Challenge. I’ve found your A-Z post very interesting as I have a son with Aspergers and it’s helped me to view the things that he does in a different way. (like his issues around food) I look forward to reading more of how you feel about being diagnosed and how you cope with it all.

     
  4. chrissy50

    April 5, 2015 at 6:53 pm

    I hope the medication helped you. I too have depression and it seems like we find something that works for a while but thin it stops and we have to adjust or try something else. It’s a little frustrating. I wish you well, I too am from the A-Z challenge, and I’ll be commenting and following you for the rest of April. 🙂

     
  5. Bhavya

    April 6, 2015 at 10:27 am

    Hi,
    Hope the medications are helping you out. I don’t know much about Aspergers and won’t comment about it .
    Hope you are well 🙂

     
  6. Keebles

    April 6, 2015 at 10:29 am

    Mine started with OCD and Social Anxiety Disorder but, like a lot of Aspers, most of the medication has the opposite effect…anti-depressants (which is normally prescribed for OCD for some reason) tend to make us depressed and anti-anxiety drugs tend to make us hyper and the longer we’re on them, the worse it gets. Plus, being uber-sensitive to things means we actually feel the “zombie” effect that we aren’t supposed to feel. After many years of trying virtually every medication there is, I refuse to take it now. I manage myself just fine…I can function enough to survive and I’m happy with that, but everyone is different.

     
  7. Tamara Narayan

    April 6, 2015 at 1:50 pm

    It’s interesting to read over your A to Z blogs as a writer because you give such good details (whether you mean to or not) for someone who might want to create a character with Asperger’s. I’ve become more interested in the subject since writing a short story about a mom’s struggles taking care of her autistic son.

     
  8. Morgan Katz

    April 6, 2015 at 11:28 pm

    New follower from A-Z. I really admire you for being able to blog about mental health topics and help to raise awareness.

     
  9. abookdragon

    April 8, 2015 at 2:17 pm

    Sending {{HUGS}} Depression can affect so many others things and likewise, so many things can affect depression.

    Gina, I’m #1302 today, blogging at Book Dragon’s Lair

    P.S. I have a blanket too and when I left it at the hotel 😦 my son bought me a new one for Christmas 🙂

     

Leave a Reply

 
