RSS

B is for Blanket and Boyfriend

02 Apr

So I just recently learned that sometimes, people with Autism have a comfort object that they like to hold when they’re upset or something. I was all “Ooh! I have one of those!” I’ve been super-attached to my baby blanket since I was, well, a baby! Actually, I have two blankets, lol. So I never had to be without it when it was being washed, lolz. Anyway, I had it with me every day. Slept with it, brought it downstairs to play with every day, etc. Now, of course, all I do is sleep with it. Mostly because it’s the best thing to cuddle with. It’s cuddle-able, but not so cuddle-able that it’ll feel like it’s pressing against my neck or chest and choking me. Does that make sense? Especially because I squeeze my arms really tight when I sleep.

My grandmother always said I would somehow get my blanket into my wedding dress. Well, don’t worry, I won’t. That’s ridiculous. But I’m not sure if I’ll ever be able to get rid of it at night :/. I just need that thing to cuddle more than anything else. And a man is too big :P.

I also use my blanket when watching horror movies at night. I’m such a baby :P.

I also wanted to mention my boyfriend. He also has Asperger’s and has had a pivotal role in teaching me so much about myself. He says I’ve taught him a lot about himself, too. But he’d have to make his own blog post about that ;P. Because I can’t speak for anyone but myself. Anyway, when I mention something, say, “weird” about myself, he’ll say, “it’s an Aspie thing,” and it’ll obviously explain it and make me feel so much better about myself. He understands my quirks because he has Asperger’s, too. And he asks if he doesn’t understand. Like when he asked why I didn’t like cheese. Was it the texture? I explained, nope. I just don’t like the taste. And that’s Asperger’s, too, right? Just not liking taste.

He’s been fantastic. Super supportive of me and my learning, etc. And I’ve tried to be for him, of course. But the fact that I was lucky enough to meet this wonderful young man to teach me so much about myself, among everything else he has done for me, I just can’t grasp it. Thanks so much, L. You’re the best (:. <33.

P.S. The brand of my mom’s moisturizer is Aveeno.

P.P.S. I’m sorry I haven’t gotten to everyone’s blogs yet. I’m going to get to it today. Promise. I’m just so busy on days that I work!

 
3 Comments

Posted by on April 2, 2015 in Uncategorized

 

Tags:

3 responses to “B is for Blanket and Boyfriend

  1. Keebles

    April 2, 2015 at 9:57 am

    Mine was a pillow that an aunt of mine cross-stitched. I used it until it literally fell apart (and now a fragment of it lives in whatever pillow I sleep with now).

    Relationships are extraordinarily hard for Aspers because we get bored quickly. You are very lucky and definitely hang on to him!

     
  2. lradams86

    April 2, 2015 at 5:58 pm

    There is nothing to be ashamed of with a blanket, I had my teddy bear when I was younger that made me feel safe. A man is too big huh? :p LOL I do understand, it is your favorite object and there is nothing wrong with a blanket šŸ™‚

    As for me? AWWWWWWWSSSSS *blushing just a tad from that* You HAVE taught me about myself, and helped me out with myself. The fact that we are uber-superb with understanding one another/getting to understand one another makes this the main reason this is the best relationship I have ever been in. We teach one another about ourselves, work with one another to improve ourselves and each other, and to be honest, YOU are the best. I’ve never met anybody who has made me smile more than you have, and I consider that a blessing and an honor to be your boyfriend. And I have the most caring, loving, patient, understanding, wonderful, beautiful, awesome girlfriend on this planet, thank you babe <33 šŸ™‚

     
  3. Bhavya

    April 6, 2015 at 10:36 am

    I’m learning a bit more about Asperger’s each time I read one of your posts.

     

Leave a Reply

 
