RSS

A is for Asperger’s

01 Apr

They think I have Asperger’s. So I’ve studied up a bit on Asperger’s. But I haven’t studied up much on Autism in general. So I’m going to try and avoid Autism in general this month, and really focus on the Asperger’s.

No one ever even thought I had Asperger’s. Never occurred to anyone until a year(?) or so ago when I started seeing my counselor. Growing up, there were a few signs that I was different from everyone else. But I thought that the things that made me different were actually things that everyone had, they just never talked about them. Like the inescapable feeling that inanimate objects have thoughts and feelings. Despite reason. I thought everyone felt the same, it was just that no one talked about it.

I am extra sensitive to touch. I can’t stand touching most things when my hands are dry. Don’t even think about it when my hands are pruny. I live on my mom’s moisturizer. Can I say the brand here? Because that’s the only brand that actually works. I don’t know if I can. So I won’t. But I live on it.

I think I may be extra sensitive to sound. I was diagnosed with ADD at a very young age. And along with the usual ADD symptoms, I do, indeed, hear everything. And am easily distracted by it. I HAVE to see what that sound was, no matter what I’m doing right now. I also remember, as a kid, the toilet flush used to scare the crap outta me, and I remember always wanting to cover my ears. Now I recognize that as a sign that the kid’s hearing is extra sensitive to that sound. Sadly, I think my hearing is getting damaged, but that’s a different story and not related to my Asperger’s.

I have a hard time with emotions and social interactions, too. My family complained that I wasn’t smiling in most of the pictures of my brother’s wedding. They said I analyze things too much. I didn’t understand the point of smiling all day. It would hurt my cheeks. I mean, yes, it was a very happy day and I was very happy. But that doesn’t mean you have to smile all day. Idk, it didn’t make sense to me.

I usually can’t tell when people are joking or not. Even though I took look for changes in voice.

I love routines. And when my routines are interrupted, I usually get very upset. But I try not to show it, unless it’s in a joking manner.

That’s all I can think of right now. I hope you enjoyed reading! Happy A-Z Challenge!

 
9 Comments

Posted by on April 1, 2015 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: ,

9 responses to “A is for Asperger’s

  1. lradams86

    April 1, 2015 at 10:01 am

    You are unique babe 🙂 This blog is awesome, I cannot wait to see the rest of examples for Aspergers that you use for the other letters 🙂

     
  2. Keebles

    April 1, 2015 at 11:06 am

    I’m a fellow Aspie who was diagnosed at a late age. At first I was completely adamant that there was no way I was Autistic, but once I started reading up on it, aspects of my personality and of my childhood suddenly all made sense! Good luck on your journey!

     
  3. Nancy

    April 1, 2015 at 11:59 am

    Stopping by from A-Z!

     
  4. S. L. Hennessy

    April 1, 2015 at 7:30 pm

    My cousin has Aspergers. It can create some challenges, just like being short, or blind, or…
    It’s all in the attitude. Great post!

    Good luck with the 2015 A to Z Challenge!
    A to Z Co-Host S. L. Hennessy
    http://pensuasion.blogspot.com

     
  5. njmagas

    April 1, 2015 at 11:22 pm

    Aspergers has so many different variations I have a hard time keeping up with them all. I think you can mention the brand of moisturizer, though. It shouldn’t be a problem.

    N J Magas, author

     
  6. Anna at Hello, Handbag

    April 2, 2015 at 1:13 am

    I so appreciate you writing this. I’d love to know the moisturizer brand too, and yes you should be fine to mention it (just don’t use a product photo without permission). Does it hurt to shake hands when you meet someone? And, if so, what would be a better way for me to say hello to someone with Aspergers?

    Stopping by from Pam’s Unconventional Alliance, best of luck with the challenge!

     
    • Laitie

      April 2, 2015 at 1:25 am

      Thanks so much for your interest! The brand us Aveeno. It’s never hurt me before to shake hands with someone, but I have heard it can hurt people when they aren’t expecting it. When in doubt, you could always do a polite wave. That’s what I do, haha.

       
    • Laitie

      April 2, 2015 at 1:26 am

      Ps, where do I find Pam’s Unconventional Alliance? WordPress?

       
  7. Marcy

    April 2, 2015 at 1:26 am

    Thanks for sharing. Looking forward to reading more. And I agree that chocolate makes it better!

     

Leave a Reply

 
