RSS

How Am I Supposed to Promote Myself?

23 Mar

I’m trying to get my editing business off the ground. Especially considering I totally can’t handle a real job anymore (dear God, that’s a whole other story). I’ve got recommendations and examples of my editing out the wazoo and do so much free editing of fanfiction I can barely stand it. So how am I supposed to promote myself?

Facebook? Haha, you’re funny. None of the groups will let you promote yourself. They only let you recommend other people. Like, what? How does that make any sense? I’m good at what I do and I have proof of it that I -will- give you FOR FREE before you decide to choose me or not. My rates are high but think about what I’m doing for you and the labor I’m putting in. I’m editing, proofreading, and critiquing. All at once. If not twice. Honestly? A penny a word is not that bad. AND I’m always open to giving discounts and/or exchanges in services. I’m a writer, too, and need my own editor.

So, nope, I have to pay to be on that annoying sidebar. 1. I has no monies. That’s kinda the whole point of this. To earn monies. 2. Who’s going to click on that sidebar and choose me? I never even pay attention to the sidebars.

I don’t know what I’m supposed to do. Do you have any ideas? Can you help a girl out? Please?

 
7 Comments

Posted by on March 23, 2015 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

7 responses to “How Am I Supposed to Promote Myself?

  1. dairyairhead

    March 23, 2015 at 10:55 pm

    I don’t think it’s worth it to pay for ads. Or at least, not if you can’t really afford it in the first place. Maybe try some Google Plus Communities- they have some technical fields. The Problogger Job Boards also have listings for editors, some of which are recurring and can lead to other opportunities. You could also try different search strings to find blog posts of people looking for editors and then reach out to them directly. I once thought of looking on Kindle free books for poorly edited books and reaching out to the authors. I never did it, and I’m sure it wouldn’t always get a great reception, but it could be a way to get some leads.

     
    • Laitie

      March 24, 2015 at 6:33 am

      Thank you for the advice. I’ll look into those!

       
  2. lradams86

    March 24, 2015 at 7:18 am

    Totally what the person said above. Google Plus always works, and even the Problogger Boards.

    Facebook though, truly finicky when it comes to that stuff. One of the reasons Facebook was created (other than funny Tumblr posts and to keep in touch with people), was to network. The fact that people on that site, and in groups, will not let you even try to do that, goes against the grain that the whole page was created for in the first place.

    I will say about the real job, you can handle it babe. Don’t ever doubt yourself that you can’t. Our jobs all have ups and downs, but we cannot let the negativity of them, or the actions of the customers get to us.

     
  3. Princess of Dragons

    March 24, 2015 at 11:44 am

    Hang on, I spotted a thing relating to this the other day, lemme find it….

    So this is an article written about finding an independent editors from a writer’s perspective. With a bit of tech fu, you can probably look through it and find hwo tot use it to help you as an editor:
    http://writerscircle.com/2014/09/how-to-find-an-independent-editor-to-review-your-work.html

    Hope it helps, and chin up, it’ll get better. If not, chocolate.

     
    • Laitie

      March 24, 2015 at 11:46 am

      Thanks so much! And you’re right, chocolate. Lolz.

       
  4. Sandy

    March 29, 2015 at 10:14 am

    Stay away from google+, it will make it much harder for you to do anything worthwhile with your blog. Google+ was formed to compete with Facebook, but the stock in Facebook is gangbusters and google+ is never even mentioned on the power lunch/stock shows etc. Linkin is an excellent way to self promote in addition to Facebook. AND I see lots or promotion going on Facebook. I think you’ve misunderstood how to. All you have to do is daily or more add links from your blog. Use your blog as your promotional tool and link it to as many places as you can. Have you talked to, or linked to schools in the area? Are you connected physically or through the net to writers groups? Have you attended any seminars where you can leave a stack of business cards and or pamphlets? Have you gone to your local book stores? Make contact with a publishing company. My SIL is a published writer, and have several friends who are published writers. You can do it. Good luck with the A-Z. Always nice to connect with more bloggers, and people do pay attention to the sidebars. Start with free advertisements so you don’t get yourself in a whole.

     
  5. orneryswife

    April 6, 2015 at 12:49 pm

    I am new to your blog, but I might be interested in hiring you to edit my memoir. I am not very far along, but it is my first attempt at a book. Can you email me and let me know how much you charge and how it all works? 🙂

     

Leave a Reply

 
