RSS

Talking about My Passions

26 Dec

I was on tumblr and saw a couple posts about talking to people about your passions. One talked about how sad it was that girls don’t usually do it without apologizing a lot because someone once told them that nobody cared. No one ever told me that nobody cared. No, I just knew that nobody cared. Because I grew up knowing no one liked what I liked. That I was a freak. Even among friends with the same interests, they didn’t offer time for me to go on some rave about what I liked or cared about. And to be honest, I didn’t really listen to them, either.

I remember one day, I was talking to someone about an original chacter of mine. I was so excited about her, but then I suddently stopped. “I’m sorry,” I said. “I get a little over-excited.” The woman I was talking to said I shouldn’t be sorry. She talked about how my eyes lit up and how wonderful it was.

I try to remember that, but I still don’t think anyone cares much. I never even bring anything up. I figure my book ideas, or explanations at least, are boring and people don’t want to hear about it. No one likes what I like. No one cares. People don’t want to hear it. They’re just being polite listening to me like they are.

So I guess that’s why I got used to keeping my stories inside. I don’t have this need to share my stories. I have no issue keeping them to myself. I am literally sharing them just because I want to profit from them. In more ways than one, of course. I want to actually be good at something. I want to believe that people actually do care about what I like and care about. I want a reason to rave about a character of my own. But if it were utterly impossible for me to do this, I wouldn’t be all too miserable about it. If I weren’t able to write . . . Well, maybe I would explode because I have so many feelings and opinions. But creatively? I’d be fine. Daydreaming gives me enough satisfaction.

Anyways, do you feel like you can share your passions with people? What stops you?

 
1 Comment

Posted by on December 26, 2014 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

One response to “Talking about My Passions

  1. lradams86

    December 26, 2014 at 3:25 pm

    Just remember these words babe….never have any reason to apologize or be sorry for sharing your interests or passions. Those who don’t get it…just don’t get it, and won’t. But those who do, will. You are good at what you do, what I have noticed when you put your mind to things you are just really good. The fanfics, the blogs, anything you write has that certain quality…that “It Factor” if you will call it that.

    Do not ever be afraid to share your passions or even your interests. I know I am like, one in a million in terms of people that will listen to what you have to say when it comes to your writing and care for what you gotta say about it, but there are plenty of people out there that will too, not just me πŸ™‚

    And remember hunni, you ARE good, you are creative, the passions you have are unique and like no other, don’t stop being yourself. And if there are people who aren’t interested, just remember this food for thought…those are the ones who will kick themselves in the ass when it’s too late once they truly see it for what it is πŸ™‚

     

Leave a Reply

 
