RSS

You Don’t Care About Our Health

03 Dec

I’m trying. I really am. I’m trying to read other people’s perspectives when it comes to weight. People saying that we need to encourage healthy lifestyles, etc. But all I’m seeing is prejudice and ignorance.

You don’t care about our health. You really don’t. I can see it. I can see it in your faces. I can see it in your words. In your lack of research. In everything that’s missing in your narratives. I don’t care if you’re a coach, a med student, or whatever. You don’t care. Not when you talk like that.

You talk about food and exercise. That’s it. You talk about women. That’s it. You say things like “you broke the X-ray table.” If you care about my health, why do you shame me by reminding me that I broke the X-ray table?

Why do you look at me like that?

If you care about my health, why don’t you do some research? Things that affect weight. I seriously thought it was common knowledge that there were a myriad of things outside of food and exercise that affected weight. Obviously, I was wrong. And I’m sorely disappointed in my society because of that.

No, I’m not going to tell you the other things that affect weight. Because you don’t care. All you care about is how my weight makes you uncomfortable. You mask your voiced discomfort with concern for my health. It’s a thin mask. I see right through it. Stop acting like you care about my health.

Let’s say for a minute that you do care about my health. Guess what? It’s none of your business. My health is between me and my doctor. It’s my and my doctor’s problem. Not yours. So fuck off and get over it.

My weight makes you uncomfortable. That’s all there is to it. Get over it.

 
2 Comments

Posted by on December 3, 2014 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

2 responses to “You Don’t Care About Our Health

  1. lissa5

    December 3, 2014 at 1:50 pm

    Unfortunately, primary care practitioners have little understanding of the obesity epidemic, beyond the science of it. All patients deserve to be treated with respect and should never be shamed for what is a medical problem in more ways than one.

     
  2. lradams86

    December 3, 2014 at 6:43 pm

    I know this isn’t directed towards me babe, but I am guessing something happened today? We will talk soon Lacey.

     

Leave a Reply

 
