RSS

A is for Abilify

01 Apr

Abilify saved my life.

It saved my academic career.

So it saved my life.

The day Depression reared its ugly head, I had woken up unable to care enough about anything to do anything. I struggled with that for two-three days. Only barely managing to make it to class. Then I took Abilify. Oh, my God, the next morning I was actually happy again. And definitely able to do my homework.

But now?

I’m fat. So very fat. Fatter than I’ve ever been before. My doctor thinks it’s the Abilify. I want to blame the Abilify. But I don’t think I can. All I really do is eat and eat and eat. Just like I used to do before college. But now it’s more. I think because of the depression. But hopefully, if I go off the Abilify–which will happen soon–I’ll lose weight. I hope.

 
12 Comments

Posted by on April 1, 2014 in A-Z

 

Tags: , , , , ,

12 responses to “A is for Abilify

  1. Mrs. Sexy

    April 1, 2014 at 3:50 pm

    Here’s to hope! πŸ™‚ I’m visiting from the A-Z Challenge.

     
  2. Kimberly @It Is Interesting To Note

    April 1, 2014 at 5:11 pm

    Good luck! I’m heavier than I’ve ever been and I don’t even have the abilify to blame. Hubs and I are trying to lose weight but it’s been very slow.

     
    • Laitie

      April 1, 2014 at 5:12 pm

      Yah and I have no patience lol

       
  3. M. J. Joachim

    April 1, 2014 at 6:56 pm

    I’m sorry you suffer with depression and wish you well. Abilify is a good A post for A – Z.

    MJ, A to Z Challenge Co-Host
    Writing Tips
    Effectively Human
    Lots of Crochet Stitches

     
  4. Bridgina Molloy

    April 1, 2014 at 7:38 pm

    Best of luck, have you been tested for the likes of Coeliac disease??? Or Thyroid? Depression is a bitch, and she and I are old friends/enemies. She hit when I was just finishing my masters, I ended up in a hospital where I learned to function again, and now while she stops by to say hi, I send her on her way. I truly wish you the best of luck, and welcome to A to Z 2014, looking forward to hearing more from you.

     
    • Laitie

      April 1, 2014 at 7:42 pm

      I’m going to test my thyroid next doc visit. I’m always tired, too. That’s great u can do that! Way to go! Thank you so much!

       
  5. lunajsalazar

    April 1, 2014 at 8:25 pm

    Depression is a terrible disease (and many people don’t even recognize it as such). I have never been to the doctor because of my depression, so I’m not taking anything. I’m trying to deal with it my own way. I too eat a lot, so I know the feeling.
    Kudos to you for getting out of bed every morning. πŸ™‚ God knows it’s hard, sometimes.

     
    • Laitie

      April 1, 2014 at 8:53 pm

      Oh, God, I don’t think I -would- get out of bed if I didn’t take my meds. They’re a godsend for me. So with a full heart I wish you the best of luck dealing with it without meds.

      Fooooooooooood~

       
  6. parichitasingh

    April 2, 2014 at 5:56 am

    I am sorry for your depression. Hopefully the life will get better soon.

    And if you don’t mind my asking, what exactly is Abilify? Meds?

     
    • Laitie

      April 2, 2014 at 5:57 am

      Yeah, meds. Abilify is actually an antidepressant supplement. But it works so quickly that the doc thought it would help, which it did :).

       
      • parichitasingh

        April 2, 2014 at 6:39 am

        I thought so, but I do wish that the need for these meds, the reason for your depression ends soon, and you get some peace of mind.

         
      • Laitie

        April 2, 2014 at 6:45 am

        Thank you so much for your wishful thinking.

        Honestly, though, I think I’ll always need the meds. I always had a tendency toward depression, though I never actually -had- it. Now that all this crap went down (see: A Quick Readup On My Depression), I think it’ll get much better with meds and determination, but never fully go away.

        It’s already gotten 500% better :). I’m happier than I’ve ever been all my life. So in a way, depression has been a blessing.

         

Leave a Reply

 
